MINUTES

of the Meeting of the Unified Federation of Osteopathic Societies (UFOS)

July 21, 2016

Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile – Chicago Chicago Ballroom E

Chair: Donald Krpan, DO

Vice Chair: Karen Nichols, DO

Secretary/Treasurer: Wayne McBride, DO, MPH

Welcome & Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order by the UFOS Chair, Dr Krpan, at 7:36 pm.

Motion to Approve the Minutes of the 2015 UFOS meeting:

The minutes for the 2015 UFOS Meeting, along with the Treasurers Report and Rules of the Caucus, were distributed. Dr. Krpan called for a motion to approve the minutes. A motion was made, seconded, and the minutes were approved.

Comments from the AOA President-Elect, Boyd Buser, DO:

Dr. Buser was recognized by Dr. Krpan and asked to make some brief comments. Dr. Buser thanked UFOS for all their support over the past year. He spoke of his experiences in traveling across the country and meeting with many state societies and schools of osteopathic medicine. He affirmed that we all care about the future of osteopathic medicine and expressed that the opportunities in front of us are fantastic.

Comments from the AOA Past- President, Norman Vinn, DO:

Remarking that Dr. Vinn will be coming off the Board this year, Dr. Krpan invited him to provide some brief comments. Dr. Vinn expressed his appreciation for all the support UFOS provided him while he served as president. He acknowledged the good times and bad times, and how as osteopathic physicians, we are all agents of good. Dr. Vinn pledged to continue to serve as he can.

Report from the Vice-Chair:

Dr. Nichols provided some statistics reflecting growth in selected state societies. She related that the state with the greatest growth in the number of osteopathic physicians is California (an increase of 220), while the state with the greatest growth in the percentage of osteopathic physicians is Louisiana (and increase of 19 members, reflecting a percentage of 26.4).

Dr. Nichols provided a report of recent changes to the Rules of the Federation. One of the proposed changes that was not supported was to allow a society not to be bound by the decision of the caucus after the vote. The Rules indicate that "any society that cannot support a decision of the caucus may be released by majority vote of the caucus provided they have announced their intentions *before* the vote is taken (italics added). Each such request is to be voted on separately." Once the vote is completed, a society cannot withdraw simply because they do not want to be bound by the caucus. The following members of the Rules Committee were acknowledged and thanked for their service: Ashley Hood, DO; Jim Jempsa, DO; Ernest Miller, DO; Geraldine O'Shea, DO; and Joe Molinar, DO.

Motion to Approve the Revised Rules of the Federation:

Dr. Krpan thanked the Rules Committee for their work and asked for a motion to approve the changes to the Rules as recommended by the Rules Committee. A motion was made, seconded, and approved.

Report of the Secretary/Treasurer:

The 2015-2016 Treasurer's report was distributed for review and reference. It was discussed that in view of a rather significant anticipated balance in the UFOS account following our 2016 meeting, exceeding \$30,000, that considerations be made regarding the following possible options: a dues adjustment, a one-year moratorium on dues, or providing support to smaller state societies and students to attend the House of Delegates. A motion was made to refer the matter to the Ad Hoc Committee for consideration, and bringing the matter back at the 2017 UFOS with recommendations for various options. A motion was made, seconded and approved. The following volunteered to serve on the Ad Hoc Committee: Samantha Olzeski, DO (KY); Robert Gear III, DO (AK); Alesia Wagner, DO (CA); Bruce Fong, DO (NV); Ernest Miller, DO (WV); and Jim Jempsa, DO (NV).

A motion was made for approval of the Treasurer's Report for 2016. The motion was seconded and approved.

Introductions of the Head Table:

Dr. Krpan recognized the following AOA Board of Trustees members seated at the head table: Karen Nichols, DO; Geraldine O'Shea, DO; Teresa Hubka, DO; Tom Ely, DO; Michael Murphy, DO; Norman Vinn, DO; Boyd Buser, DO; Mark Cantieri, DO; William Mayo, DO; James Lally, DO; Barbara Walker, DO. He also acknowledged the Advisors to the Chair: Joseph Molinar, DO, and Paul Grayson-Smith, DO.

Affirmation to Nominate Those to Remain on the AOA Board:

Dr. Krpan called for a motion to nominate the following Board members for another threeyear term on the AOA Board of Trustees: Tom Ely, DO; William Mayo, DO; and Barbara Walker, DO. A motion was made, seconded and approved.

Reports of Members of the Board Reference Committees:

Reports of actions on selected resolutions were delivered with recommendations by the Board of Trustees, including Drs. Mayo, Ely, Murphy, Hubka, and O'Shea.

Introduction of Delegates and Alternate Delegates:

All delegates and alternate delegates present, as well as Executive Directors, briefly introduced themselves and indicated their state.

Election of UFOS Vice-Chair for a 2-Year Term:

Dr. Krpan called for nominations for the UFOS Vice-chair. Karen Nichols, DO, was nominated. With no other nominations, Dr. Nichols was appointed for another 2-year term. .

Election of UFOS Secretary/Treasurer for a 2-Year Term:

Dr. Krpan called for nominations for the UFOS Secretary/Treasurer. Norman Vinn, DO, and Wayne McBride, DO, were both nominated. A vote was called and tallied. Dr. McBride received a majority of the votes (84 vs 53) and was appointed for another 2-year term.

Call to Bind the Caucus for Chair and Vice-Chair to Represent UFOS:

Dr. Krpan called for a motion for binding support for Chair and Vice-Chair to represent UFOS as they meet with the other Caucuses. Motion made; seconded, and approved.

UFOS Candidates for AOA Board of Trustees:

One of our candidates for the AOA Board, James Lally, DO, was elected to a three-year position on the Board of Trustees, expiring in 2019.

Dr. Krpan read the list of the top five UFOS candidates for the AOA Board of Trustee positions, as voted at the 2015 UFOS meeting: 1. George Pasquarello, DO, (RI); 2. Joel Kase, DO (ME); 3. (tie) Timothy Kowalski, DO (SC) and Bruce Cunningham, DO (MN); and 5. Don Polk, DO (TN). Dr. Krpan further explained that although Dr. Pasquarello was the top selection for a Board position, UFOS did not prevail in proffering him as candidate for the Board this year.

Dr. Krpan then introduced the following current nominees for the Board of Trustee positions from UFOS, followed by each candidate providing brief comments on their AOA experience and qualifications.

Mark Bailey, DO (AL) '15 Bruce Cunningham, DO (MN) '00 Gina DiFranco, DO (TN) '15 (not present) Charles (Chip) Finch, DO AZ '13 W. Ashley Hood, DO (MS) '15 James Jempsa, DO (NV) '04 Joel Kase, DO (ME) '11 Timothy Kowalski, DO (SC) '04
Ernest Miller, DO (WV) '03
George Pasquarello, DO, (RI) '10
Shannon Scott, DO (AZ) '16
Derrick Sorweide, DO (OR) '15 (not present)
Angela Wagner, DO (IN) '16

Dr. Krpan moved that a re-affirmation vote for UFOS candidates to the Board of Trustees be made. Motion made, seconded, and approved.

As with previous years, Dr. Krpan indicated that the updated prioritization sheets for Board of Trustee nominations will be distributed at the end of the meeting this evening. Each divisional society is to complete one sheet.

Friday Night Caucus:

A reminder was provided regarding the Friday Caucus, held this year at 9:00 pm. Each member society is to send 2 representatives to attend the Caucus and be prepared to nominate their respective candidate(s) at the Caucus. Member societies must be prepared to nominate their candidate at 8:00 a.m. Saturday, July 23, on the floor of the House of Delegates.

Adjournment: 9:35 pm

Attendance: 231

Respectfully submitted,

Wayne Z. McBride, DO, MPH, UFOS Secretary/Treasurer

July 31, 2016